Анонсы

Онлайн-конференция "Старение, иммунитет и COVID-19"

The 1st Metchnikoff’s Day Online Conference

“Aging, Immunity and COVID-19”May 16, 2020Via ZOOM

Time (tentative, may be updated): 8am PST, 11am EST, 15pm GMT, 17pm CET, 18 pm IST/MST.

The online conference is dedicated to celebrating the 175th anniversary of Elie Metchnikoff, the founder of gerontology and cell immunology (May 15, 1845-July 15, 1916). The conference will foster academic and public discussion on how biological research of aging and longevity could help tackle the COVID-19 pandemic and improve the control of aging-related communicable and non-communicable diseases.

We will advocate for the strong enhancement of the research of aging-mediated immune deficiency as a major risk factor for disability and mortality. It is established that elders have a much greater risk of dying from COVID-19 than young people. While the average mortality rate from COVID-19 among known cases in Hubei, China, was 0.2% until the age of 40 y.o., it was 14.8% among people over 80 y.o. COVID-19 is thus a disease opportunistically associated with aging. Hence ameliorating degenerative aging processes appears to be the most promising way to protect patients, especially the elderly, to reduce their disability and mortality.

The conference will emphasize this connection. The International Longevity Alliance holds annual events on Metchnikoff’s Day to promote longevity research and advocacy around the world.
Attendance is open and free, yet registration is requested.

Онлайн Бесплатно Конференции/Конгрессы/Саммиты/Форумы Знаем организаторов, советуем Старение